西岸艺术与设计博览会 2018

2018年11月7日 - 11月11日
N316

胶囊上海很荣幸地宣布将在2018年西岸艺术与设计博览会上举办展览《赛博格之约》,展出美国艺术家道格拉斯·莱杰和中国艺术家王海洋的艺术创作,这也将是莱杰的作品在中国首次亮相。

 

本次展览由艺术家莎拉·福克斯协同策划,将展示莱杰的一系列拟人化雕塑和王海洋的最新一组纸上色粉画及其动画视频。

 

当人类使用技术将无生命之物以动画呈现出来时,也就把一部分人性转交给了机器。作为半人半机器,赛博格同时是熟悉和超凡的存在。两位艺术家都以当代性表述机器和人类本性、心理和行为模式间不可分割的概念。因此,赛博格作为机械化有机体,不仅是被动的创造物,也是自主的创造者。

 

莱杰通过他的雕塑作品暗示了物体的"人性"本质,这种特质在它们移动、扭转、延伸并最终消亡的方式中体现出来。莱杰将雕塑置于一个拟人化的实体中,注入操控者的精神欲念和内心对话(《悬而未决》,2018年),从而构建出一种视觉叙事。莱杰在自然和人工、艺术性和原始性之间的不断变动中平衡着素材,使其作品同时具有吸引力和拒斥感。艺术家还有意编排了所有作品之间的空白,呈现出雕塑之间的万有引力和符号学韵律。另一位艺术家王海洋的色粉画则捕捉到了人体运动的机械本质,它在个体姿态脱离语境、凝固在一幅画框中时显示出来。王海洋画中异想天开的场景几近抽象,揭示了人类体验的真相,并为当代语境植入了一种超现实的感知。被制作成短视频《从一本书开始到一只死鸟结束》(2014-2018年)的这组色粉画创造了一条故事线,让观众在体验一种看似因果分明的叙述时,叙述情节发生骤变。这组兼收并蓄的混合媒介作品在期望与现实之间制造着分歧,由天马行空的想象、弗洛伊德式错误和痴言梦语串联起来。

 

阅读以下由协同策展人莎拉·福克斯和两位艺术家所进行的对谈:

 

莎拉·福克斯(SF):道格拉斯和海洋。很高兴能在西岸艺术博览会中将二位的作品一起呈现。赛博格之约(Cyborg Dates)的名称是由这些动画,画作以及雕塑组合所得。我想知道你们是如何看待“赛博格”(Cyborg)这个词的?

 

王海洋 (WHY)有趣的是,我在两年前有过一个“赛博格”般的经历。我做了一个手术,两条腿中都被植入了很沉重的金属框架,各以六个钉子钉进我的骨头。当时,通过电脑计算的数据来拧动钢钉纠正我的身体,那时我总是问自己:我的身体还属于我吗?有时候我觉得我腿上沉重的金属框架变成了我的“真身”。我没法把它们区分开来,它们在我身体里生长!所以当我与作品对话的时候,仿佛是在和那两个金属框架交谈。是同样的感觉,同样的关系。

 

SF:哇,所以你对金属材料产生了一种同情心,或者说亲近感。你呢,道格拉斯?在你的作品中,人的身体的界限在哪里可以体现?

 

道格拉斯·莱杰(DR):我认为人总想在他们生活的世界中留下自己的印记:少年在鞋子上用马克笔写下自己最爱的乐队的名字,年轻人把他的摩托车进行私人订制改造,甚至是有人把自己的名字刻在他坐的长凳上。对我们身边的事物进行改造使得我们在居于其中。我觉得与这同样的栖息概念还存在于手工制作的东西中,而相比之下,相同能量在用机器制作的东西中会更弱一些…这种对栖息形态的欲望与性欲是一种运行并进的关系。我很喜爱当这两者交错时,操纵平凡事物的行为变成一种欲望的举动。这是十分古怪的。一个形态同时代表了很多不同的事物,一只把手,一条手臂,一只耳朵,一个容器,一个钩子,这真的会扭曲我上面所提到对物件的栖息感。

 

SF: 太对了。二位都谈到了栖息的行为:海洋,金属在你体内栖息,或者是道格拉斯,欲望驱使你栖息于物件上。这感觉是一种很原始的冲动,这种让不同物品互相侵犯的行为。

 

WHY:这系列作品《从一本书开始到一只死鸟结束》是从四年前开始创作的,而我的手术大约在两年前,所以”金属栖息于我体内”的论点其实是在莎拉提到”赛博格”时候从我脑海里蹦出来的。

 

SF: 现在看来,这是多么自然的一种联系!在海洋的动画中,一条蠕虫变成了一只眼睛又衍化成了一个男人,而在道格拉斯的雕塑中,木料变成了流动的,我想请问:在把没有生命的物体赋予生命的过程中,甚至说在制作动画本身的过程中是否有某种满足感? 

 

WHY:这部动画像是一个不断循环的机械结构,其中没有开端也没有结果,只有一种着迷似的力量驱使情节的发展。这导致了不同物体之间的再生,取代,瓦解,建造,循环和链接反应的关系。我利用动画语言的优势来挖掘和建立不同物体之间隐藏的关系,而与此同时,整部动画的情节却走向虚无。 

 

SF: 这听起来像是隐藏着虚无主义的概念,或者也许这只是对无限改变循环的接受。你呢,道格拉斯?即使在这些沉重的静止物中,你赋予材料一种不断流动的感觉。这么做的冲动是从何而来的呢?

 

DR: 我小时候一直为我自己和他人的身体感到扭捏。直到很久以后,这种不安感让我观察到我周围事物的改变。所有的物体都成了异态,变幻为一种有人格的肉体的存在。我觉得这种变化在我的雕塑作品中被定格,而在海洋的动画中活跃。他把身体的图像扭曲,使观者对于栖息于一个为了和世界建立联系,同时又为了迎合永恒变化而适应的身体里的这件事进行反思,从而产生敬仰和厌恶之情。

 

SF: 你是在展现一种恋物癖吗?还是一种仪式化的变化过程?

 

DR: 我是恋物的,但我喜欢把每一件物品都想成是拥有自主达到那种拟像化恋物气场的能力。物体原初的性感程度是很好玩的,但我认为在性感的基础上加入一些不确定性会给作品添加不少色彩。那是一个把手吗?还是一个喷口?一个软管?

 

SF: 的确,在看你的作品时,那种没办法说清我自己到底在看什么物体的感觉让我的脑子进入一种戏谑的思考性的状态。海洋,我对于你的动画拥有相似的趣味这一点感到很惊异,因为我知道它的制作过程是很漫长枯燥的。

 

WHY:  重复绘制动画中的定格静帧是很无趣的。但我并没有把他当作真正的的绘画来做,而是一个行为,就像你花很长的时间来创作出一秒钟的想法(比如那条蠕虫变成一个男人)。通常职业动画人做这个,因为这是他们的工作流程,他们先有“故事”而我的动画恰恰相反,我先有了“结果”,具体说就是我平日里积累的画一些静帧片段,它们之间毫无关系,但都是我的素材,我通过结果组织推理故事。

 

SF: 这很有道理。《从一本书开始到一只死鸟结束》这部作品中有一种意识流的感觉。这种不断被搅拌着的,永不停歇的动态是我对你们二位作品最欣赏的一点。感谢二位分享你们的作品和想法!

West Bund Art and Design: 西岸艺术与设计博览会

7 - 11 November 2018
N316

For the 2018 edition of West Bund Art & Design, Capsule Shanghai is pleased to present "Cyborg Dates" - a corporeal coupling of works from American artist Douglas Rieger, here at his debut in China, and Chinese artist Wang Haiyang.

 

The exhibition, co-curated by artist Sarah Faux, features a group of Rieger's anthropomorphic sculptures and a selection of Wang's pastel works paired with their latest animated version.

 

As humans use technology to animate the inanimate, they lose parts of their humanity to machines. The cyborg, half-human and half-machine, embodies the union of the familiar and the extraordinary. Both artists offer contemporary takes on the notion that machines are inherently part of our nature, our psyche and the way we operate. The artificially animated cyborg is therefore not merely a creation, but a creator in its own right.

 

Through his sculptures, Rieger hints at the "human" nature of objects, a quality conveyed in the way they move, twist, extend and ultimately perish. Rieger constructs a visual narrative that places the sculpture as an anthropomorphic entity, psychologically filled with its operator's aspirations, desires and inner dialogue (Part Indefinitely, 2018). In order to invoke both seductiveness and repulsion, Rieger balances the materials in a restless play between natural and artificial, polished and raw. He then carefully choreographs the space between every piece in a way that suggests a gravitational attraction and semiotic rhymes between them. Wang's pastel works on paper capture the mechanical essence of human movement that is revealed when individual gestures are decontextualized and distilled into one frame. His otherworldly scenarios, almost verging on the abstract, unveil truths around the human experience and transplant a surrealist sensibility into a contemporary context. Animated on the new short video entitled The Birth of the Word, to the Demise of the Bird (2014-2018), these works on paper construct a storyline that, just when the viewer thinks of watching a clear statement of cause and effect, suddenly becomes very shifty. Creating rifts between expectations and reality, this eclectic collection of different mediums is tied together by whimsical imagination, Freudian slips and dreamlike language.

 

Read below the interview between Sarah Faux, Douglas Rieger and Wang Haiyang.

 

Sarah Faux (SF): Douglas and Haiyang, I'm so excited to bring your work together for the West Bund Art Fair. This particular arrangement of animation, drawing and sculpture gained the title "Cyborg Dates". So I'm wondering, how do you feel about cyborgs?

 

Wang Haiyang (WHY): Its funny, actually I had a kind of 'cyborg' experience two years ago. I had a major surgery, two big heavy frames were installed on my legs, and each one had six nails in my bones. At that moment, the computer data slowly changed my body, and I was always questioning: is my body really my body? Sometimes I felt the heavy metal frames on my legs were becoming a part of my 'real body'. I couldn't tell the difference, they were growing on me! So when I talked to my artworks, it was just like I was talking to those two metal frames. The same feeling, the same relationship.

 

SF: Wow, so you developed a kind of empathy or closeness with a material like metal. What about you Douglas? Where are the boundaries of the human body within your work?

 

Douglas Rieger (DR): I think that humans want to put their mark on the objects in world they live in; a teenager writing their favorite bands in marker on their shoes, a young man customizing his moped, or even some one sitting on a bench and carving their name into it. Modifying the things around us allows us to inhabit them, and I think that that same presence of inhabitation exists when they are made by hand, but is less powerful when they are produced by machines... this desire to inhabit forms is running parallel to sexual desire. I love it when the paths cross and manipulating quotidian objects becomes a sexual act, it is very bizarre. Having forms be multiple things at once, a handle, an arm, an ear, a vessel, a hook, a penis, that can really illicit a feeling of inhabiting an object.

 

SF: So true. Both of you are mentioning acts of inhabiting: metal inhabiting your body Haiyang, or Douglas, desire compelling you to inhabit an object. This feels like a very primary impulse, to make materials violate each other...

 

WHY: This series of work, "The Birth", started about four years ago, but my operation is about two years ago, so the 'metal inhabiting my body' actually just jumped out of my mind when Sarah mentioned about cyborgs.

 

SF:  Now it feels like such a natural connection! But I'm really wondering - in Haiyang's animation a worm becomes an eye becomes a man, or in Douglas's sculpture wood becomes fluid - is there a certain satisfaction in transforming the inanimate into the animate, or maybe even in the literal act of animating?

 

WHY: My animation is a revolving mechanism, with no beginning or outcome. There's only an obsessive force pushing the plot along, which causes regeneration, substitution, disruption/disintegration, construction, circulation and chain reactions to occur between different objects. I take advantage of the language of animation to excavate and erect hidden relations between various objects, while the plot line moves in the direction of nothingness.

 

SF: That sounds like a hidden nihilism, or maybe just an acceptance of an infinite cycle of change. What about you Douglas? Even in these heavy still objects you manage to make your materials feel like they are constantly in flux. Where does that impulse come from?

 

DR: As a kid I was always embarrassed by my body and others bodies. It wasn't until much later when this discomfort allowed me to see transformations happening in the objects around me. Everything became something else and transformed into a bodily presence with a personality. I think those transformations, frozen in my sculptures, but active in Haiyang's animations, distort the image of the body in a way that the viewer reacts with awe and repulsion reflecting on how incredibly odd it is to inhabit a body that was built to engage 

with the world in one way but now is adapting to new translations of that world in perpetuity.

 

SF: Are you acting out a kind of fetishization of the object? Or a ritual transformation?

 

DR: I am fetishizing objects, but I like to think of every object as having an ability to get to that illustrated type of fetish vibe. The base level sexiness of objects is fun to play with, but I think adding moments of uncertainty within that sexiness adds much more to the work. Is that a handle? A spout? a hose?

 

SF:  Yes, that inability to name what you're seeing definitely throws me into a playful erotic headspace when I look at your work Douglas. Haiyang, I'm struck by how equally playful your animation is when I know the process to create it is quite tedious.

 

WHY: You know it is really boring to draw those 'stills', it is a process of copying again and again. I do not think of this as a drawing process, but more like acting, you need to spend a long time to create an image that flips on the screen for just a second (for example the worm becoming a man). Usually animators do this as a job. There is a huge difference though between my works and the work of animators. Animators usually have story first and then they make stills to finish the story. I start by making the stills, and the story develops later.

 

SF:  Ah hah, that makes sense. There's a feeling in "The Birth" of a freely moving train of thought. This churning, never fully settling, motion might be what I admire most in both of your art. Thank you both or sharing your thoughts and your work.