陶斯祺的绘画实践源于其对物像背后隐喻的猎奇。物与物之间正负交缠的形态,引发了她以画面为基础进行的深藏着情愫的绘制探究。她以绘制的方式言说着话语,展开基于身体的写作。

 

灰蓝色的喷泉、柔软的金属武器、溶解的雪人局部等不常见的表达题材,都超越原图像的能指,映射出其画作中的真实与虚幻之间的张力。如何自然地建立、瓦解、延异现有的图示,并由此引发关于个人情感体验也成为她工作的轴心,其中饱含其对于生活着的时代的丰富、敏锐、独特的认知。

 

陶斯祺1994年出生于湖北武汉,现工作生活于上海。2016年,她毕业于湖北北美术学院油画系,获学士学位。她的个人项目曾在胶囊上海(中国上海)和 chi K11 艺术空间(中国武汉)展出,她曾参加由莎拉·福克斯策展的展览"匿于眼后"(中国上海,2019);鲁明军策展的展览"力的能见度"(中国上海,2017);RS_PROJECTS策展的展览"春日地陷"(中国武汉,2016)。

Tao Siqi 陶斯祺

Tao Siqi’s practice of painting originates from her seeking of metaphors hidden under the surface of an object. The positive and negative grounds of an object intrigue her to explore its emotional undercurrent on the canvas. 

 

The unusual subjects in Tao’s paintings - the fountain in a haze of dusty blue, the softness of the metal weapon, and the melting snowman - transcend their signifiers, and reflect the tension between reality and illusion. Rooting in her keen observation and sensitive perception of the times we live in, her works aim to trigger personal emotional experiences through the construction, extension and deconstruction of images. 

 

Tao Siqi was born in Wuhan, Hubei province in 1994, and currently lives and works in Shanghai. She graduated from Hubei Institute of Fine Art with a BA in painting in 2016. Her exhibitions include solo exhibition “Transient” at chi K11 Art Space (Wuhan, China, 2015), and group exhibitions “Right Behind Your Eyes” curated by Sarah Faux (Capsule Shanghai, Shanghai, China, 2019), “On Drawing: Visibility of Power” curated by Lu Mingjun (J: Gallery, Shanghai, China, 2017) and “Chūn rì dì xìan” (RS_PROJECTS, Wuhan, 2016) among others.