黄海欣的创作主题主要围绕著当代社会的日常景色。特别是那些隐约浮现出介於幽默与恐怖怪异氛围的枯燥普通的影像;平凡的家庭照、旅游景点的观光客行為、例行性的防灾演习…她的作品中能看出生活里各个面向都同时存在着某种怪异、别扭、可笑与没有意义的可能。

 

黄海欣细腻入微的呈现幽默、讽刺又机灵的作品,她以自己的美感将平凡的事物化为不凡,微不足道的点滴都充满趣味,尴尬的情境也是种惊喜。如此一来,她让观者对威权和标准化的眼光产生质疑。

 

黄海欣1984年生于台湾台北,并在2007年从国立台北教育大学获艺术学士士学位。2009年,她毕业于纽约视觉艺术学院艺术创作研究所,获艺术硕士学位。目前,她生活和工作在纽约布鲁克林。黄海欣的近年分别在胶囊上海、德国莱比锡美术馆、美国纽约ISE伊势艺术基金会、美国纽约456艺廊等机构举办个展,她参加群展的机构包括日本东京森美术馆、韩国首尔美术馆、以色列荷兹利亚美术馆、台湾台北关渡美术馆、美国伊萨卡Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art等。黄海欣的作品被众多私立和公共机构收藏,这些机构包括瑞银艺术藏品、台北国巨基金会、澳大利亚悉尼白兔美术馆、台北市立美术馆以及台中国立台湾美术馆等。她最近进驻了德国莱比锡飞行者进驻村。她的个人项目“巴塞尔艺术展”将由胶囊上海于香港巴塞尔展会中呈现。

Huang Hai-Hsin's works explore images indicative of contemporary life, particularly banal everyday life scenes that reveal an ambiguous atmosphere between humor and horror. She takes inspiration from ordinary family photos, tourists at attractions sites, people-watching at museums and the routine disaster drills. In her work, most aspects of life have the potential to be ridiculous, absurd, awkward, funny and meaningless all at once.

In Huang's work irony, sarcasm, and wit mix with an attention to detail that allows Huang's aesthetic to transform the humble into something extraordinary, the trivial into something funny, and the embarrassing into a thing of wonder. This process invites each viewer to cast doubt on authority and the standardization of taste.

 

Huang Hai-Hsin was born in Taipei in 1984 and received her BA degree from National Taipei University of Education in 2007. In 2009 she received a MFA from The School of Visual Arts in New York. She currently lives and works in Brooklyn, New York. Huang has held solo shows at Capsule Shanghai (Shanghai, China), the Museum der bildende Künste (Leipzig, Germany), Gallery 456 (New York, USA), and the ISE Cultural Foundation (New York, USA). Her work was presented in group shows at the Mori Art Museum (Tokyo, Japan), the Seoul Museum (Seoul, South Korea), the Herzliya Museum of Contemporary Art (Herzliya, Israel), the Kyoto Cultural Center (Kyoto, Japan), the Kuandu Museum of Fine Arts (Taipei, Taiwan), the Herbert F. Johnson Museumof Art (Ithaca, USA). Huang's work has been collected by multiple private and public collections, including the YAGEO Foundation (Taipei, Taiwan), the White Rabbit Collection (Sydney, Australia), the Taipei Fine Arts Museum (Taipei, Taiwan) and the National Taiwan Museum (Taichung, Taiwan). She recently was artist in residence at the PILOTENKUECHE (Leipzig, Germany). Her solo project "Art Basel" was presented at Art Basel Hong Kong 2019 by Capsule Shanghai.