莎拉·福克斯的绘画融合了具象表征和姿态抽象两种手法,其描绘的女性身体以一种临界、模糊的状态游浮在她构建出的感官情境里。福克斯常将画面主体切割,聚焦对象的身体局部,如此的构图处理将观众引入一个亲密的第一人称视角。由于无法轻易识别出身体的形象,我们凝视着平坦的色块,在揣摩那些若隐若现的场景时,嘴角不由挂起浅浅的坏笑。

 

莎拉·福克斯(b.1986, 波士顿)在纽约布鲁克林生活和工作,并且于2015年取得耶鲁大学绘画专业艺术创作硕士学位。她于2009年分别取得布朗大学和罗德岛设计学院的文科学士和艺术创作学士双学位。福克斯近期曾在胶囊上海(中国上海),Cuevas Tilleard画廊(美国纽约)和Thierry Goldberg画廊(美国纽约)以及Stems画廊(比利时布鲁塞尔)举办个展。她的作品展出于国内和国际,包括Fredericks&Freiser(美国纽约),ltd los angeles(美国洛杉矶),胶囊上海(中国上海)和Shoot the Lobster(美国纽约)。福克斯曾在Yaddo艺术中心,于Cuevas Tilleard Projects中在肯尼亚拉穆进行驻留,也曾在Oxbow艺术学校有驻留经历。2020年,她将在斯沃琪和平饭店进行驻留。

 

关于她的报道在Cultured Magazine,artcritical,Surface Magazine,Modern Painters,华尔街日报,Interview Magazine,Hyperallergic,Artsy和Artsy Asia等杂志上均有发表刊登。她的个人项目将由胶囊上海于2019年Frieze纽约Frame板块中呈现。

In her paintings, Sarah Faux merges the seemingly disparate strands of figurative representation and gestural abstraction to construct sensual situations where raw female bodies drift in a state of liminality. Faux crops her subjects to focus on specific body parts, a compositional strategy that pulls the audience into an intimate, first-person perspective. Unable to identify a pronounced figure, we find ourselves gazing into flattened fields of color, parsing the faintly discernible scenes with a curious grin.

 

Sarah Faux (b. 1986, Boston) lives and works in Brooklyn, NY. Faux received her MFA in Painting from the Yale School of Art in 2015. She received a joint BA/BFA from Brown University and the Rhode Island School of Design in 2009. Faux has had solo exhibitions at Capsule Shanghai (Shanghai, China), Cuevas Tilleard (New York, USA), Thierry Goldberg Gallery (New York, USA) and at Stems Gallery (Brussels, Belgium). Faux's work has been exhibited in group shows nationally and internationally, including at Fredericks & Freiser (New York, USA), ltd los angeles (Los Angeles, USA), and Shoot the Lobster (New York, USA). Faux has participated in several residencies including Yaddo (New York, USA), Cuevas Tilleard Projects (Lamu, Kenya) and a fellowship at the Ox-bow School of Art (USA). In 2020 she will be artist in residence at the Swatch Art Peace Hotel (Shanghai, China). 

 

Her paintings have been written about in Cultured Magazine, artcritical, Surface Magazine, Modern Painters, The Wall Street Journal, Interview Magazine, Hyperallergic, Artsy and Artsy Asia, among others. Her solo project is presented at Frieze New York 2019 in Frame section by Capsule Shanghai.